Damien Rice 10-Pack

Damien Rice 10-Pack

What's included

  • All tab
  • Chords
  • Chart
  • Guitar pro files


Full Lifetime Access to this package

Damien Rice came on the international music scene in 2001 with the release of The Blower's Daughter. He had a very unique sound characterized by gentle, repetitive strumming and chord patterns laying a soft foundation for impassioned lyrics set to beautiful melody lines. This set of lessons include songs from his debut album O (2002), the follow-up 9 (2006), and even one of a few unreleased tunes making it's way around the world via YouTube.


  • Lesson 1: 9 Crimes

    9 Crimes is the title track from Damien Rice's second album. It is a great example of how a simple chord progression and a basic strumming pattern can be the foundation for a beautiful, moving song. It was originally done on piano and the lesson looks at a Campfire, strumming version, as well as an arpeggio version that follows the piano arrangement.

  • Lesson 2: Cannonball - Guitar Lesson

    Cannonball is a song by Damien Rice from his first album *O.*It consists of a gentle strumming pattern picking out a subtle melody as the main background. This lesson goes over a simplified chord progression as well as the more complex ways that Damien played it on the album and in subsequent live performances.

  • Lesson 3: Delicate - Guitar Lesson

    Delicate is a beautiful, moving song by Irish singer/songwriter Damien Rice. It is a great example of how a simple chord progression can be combined with touching lyrics and a flowing melody into a touching soundscape. The song is played with a capo at the fifth fret using the three primary chords in the key of C.

  • Lesson 4: Elephant - Guitar Lesson

    Elephant is a Damien Rice song that uses many chords that are a bit unusual, as do almost all of his songs. The chords are mostly modified versions of the standard ā€˜Eā€™ barre chord family, but all played without a barre and wrapping the left thumb over the sixth string to get the bass note. In this lesson we look at a great alternate way to do this and get the same sound without the thumb wrap, which can also be applied to most of his other songs.

  • Lesson 5: Eskimo - Guitar Lesson

    Eskimo is one of Damien Rice's songs from his first album, O. Typical of many of his songs; it features a melancholy, repetitive sequence of chords with some nice additions that create a very interesting sound. This lesson looks at the way the studio version was originally done, as well as some of the embellishments that Damien has added in live versions over the last few years.

  • Lesson 6: Grey Room - Guitar Lesson

    Grey Room is from Damien Rice's second album, 9. It uses just a few chords and a basic 3/4 strumming pattern, with a slight swing feel. He does use his left thumb to fret the sixth string on an F chord but it sounds fine without the thumb wrap, keeping C in the bass.

  • Lesson 7: Older Chests - Guitar Lesson

    Older Chests is a fingerpicking song by Damien Rice from his first album, O. It is a steady eighth note arpeggio pattern played with chords in the key of C. Many of he chords include notes not really in the chord but held over from a previous chord. It is really just a simple 8-measure progression with a few random variations. He does use his left thumb to fret the low F on the E string but an alternate way of accomplishing that is covered as well.

  • Lesson 8: The Blower's Daughter - Guitar Lesson

    The Blower's Daughter was the first single release from Damien Rice, and it later appeared on his first album, O, in 2002. The song features unusual chord shapes that Damien uses in many of his songs. This lesson covers a couple of different ways of fingering the chords, as well as harmonic analysis of them.

  • Lesson 9: Volcano with Pete

    Pete was the first student to ask me about learning Damien Rice songs, about 7 years ago. We finally got to one in a recent lesson**and here we are refining the strumming and rhythm of Volcano.

  • Lesson 10: Wild And Free - Guitar Lesson

    Wild And Free is a new song by Damien Rice, presumably from an upcoming album. Like most of his songs, the chords are somewhat basic but when combined with a gentle strumming patter create the perfect backdrop for his powerful lyrics and vocals. He uses his left thumb to fret the sixth string on a few of the chords and this is a pretty important technique to get down in order to get the best voicings of the chords. The song and the lesson are done with a capo at the fifth fret.