Neil Young Volume 6 Acoustic Guitar 5 Pack

Neil Young Volume 6 Acoustic Guitar 5 Pack

What's included

  • All tab
  • Chords
  • Chart
  • Guitar pro files


Buy Package

Full Lifetime Access to this package

Neil Young’s 1992 album Harvest Moon saw him returning somewhat to his folk and country roots, focusing on acoustic guitar-oriented songs. Volume 6 includes three lesson from that album, Dreamin’ Man, Unknown Legend and War Of Man, as well two older jamming tunes, Like A Hurricane and Cortez The Killer. Like almost all of his tunes these are very accessible to intermediate guitar players and students.


  • Lesson 1: Dreamin Man - Neil Young - Guitar Lesson

    Dreamin’ Man is from Neil Young’s 1992 album Harvest Moon and was recently suggested on our Recommend A Lesson page. It is done in Double Dropped D Tuning and uses very easy chords and shapes.

    Many of the chords have unusual names because of the tuning but the lesson really focuses on strumming through the progression and adding the short instrumental fill that follows the chorus.

  • Lesson 2: Cortez The Killer - Neil Young - Guitar Lesson

    Cortez is another of Neil Young’s classic jamming tracks. It was released in 1975 on the Zuma album and remains a concert staple of his to this day. The rhythm part is a basic set of three chords, and although it is best to do in Double Dropped D Tuning, this lesson looks at playing it in standard as well. The real focus of the lesson is expanding the Pentatonic Scale to include the notes missing from the Major Scale when a particular chord includes that note. There are no attachments to this and it really encourages experiment rather than walking you through step-by-step instruction.

  • Lesson 3: Like A Hurricane - Neil Young - Guitar Lesson

    Like A Hurricane is another of Neil Young’s classic screaming electric guitar songs, along with the likes of Southern Man, Cowgirl In The Sand and Cortez The Killer, and consists of a fairly basic chord progression with a very distinctive melody/lead line picked out. This lesson goes through the chords and rhythm patterns, the melody line, and takes you in the direction of incorporating the melody into the strumming, as well as generally improvising in the key of A Minor.

  • Lesson 4: Unknown Legend - Neil Young - Guitar Lesson

    This is the first track from Neil Young’s 1992 album Harvest Moon. It is a great example of how you can take just two chords, add some time signature variations and a few well-placed bass notes as an intro, and create a compelling song. This is not too difficult but the lesson leaves a few holes in the explanation to encourage the student to discover as much as possible on their own, particularly by listening to the original recording.

  • Lesson 5: War Of Man by Neil Young - Guitar Lesson

    War Of Man is an acoustic masterpiece by Neil Young that first appeared on his 1992 album Harvest Moon. It is played in Double Dropped D Tuning, like many of his songs, and features his signature style of strumming with his fingers, sometimes focusing on a couple strings, as well as picking out clean, single note melodies. This can be done just as easily with a pick, and that is how it is played in the lesson.

    The lesson covers the techniques and chord positions with a little talk about the advantages of the tuning.