Gordon Lightfoot Package

Gordon Lightfoot Package

What's included

  • All tab
  • Chords
  • Chart
  • Guitar pro files


Full Lifetime Access to this package

This new lessons package includes songs from Gordon Lightfoot


  • Lesson 1: Carefree Highway

    Carefree Highway is one of dozens (maybe even hundreds!) of great songs by Gordon Lightfoot. This Campfire Lesson goes through the chords in the key of E, which include a few from the barre families, and some thoughts on strumming patterns.

  • Lesson 2: Early Morning Rain

    *Early Morning Rain*was written by Gordon Lightfoot and recorded by Peter, Paul & Mary, effectively bringing Gordon up the ladder into public view. His first record for United Artists, Lightfoot, presented his versions of many of his early tunes. This song is really more of a Campfire song, using a basic strumming pattern and a simple set of three chords in the key of D. It is done in Dropped D Tuning.

  • Lesson 3: Sundown

    Gordon Lightfoot's Sundown was one of his biggest hits, as well as one of his easiest songs to play. It was released in 1974 and got him back on the musical map as it had been a few years since his last hit, If You Could Read My Mind. It uses just a few open chords and is done with a simple rock strum.

  • Lesson 4: If You Could Read My Mind

    Gordon Lightfoot was a well-known songwriter in the mid 1960s but in 1970 he became a household name with the release of *If You Could Read My Mind*. It features a gentle, rolling arpeggio fingerpicking pattern, and a relatively easy set of chords backing a beautiful melody. This guitar lesson looks at Gordon’s repetitive pattern as well as how to expand and improvise a bit around it. There is also a short interlude that incorporates the melody into the accompaniment. The song is fingered in the key of G but with a capo at the second fret, putting it in the key of A. The lesson is done without the capo.

  • Lesson 5: Wreck Of Edmund Fitzgerald

    The Wreck Of The Edmund Fitzgerald was a big hit for Gordon Lightfoot, from his 1976 album Summertime Dream. The song is a recount of the sinking of the freighter on Lake Superior in 1975. The lesson is mostly strumming open chords but we take a look at the opening lead fill as well.